Some Random Stuff

[Pa-try ulit magsulat ng short story. Para kay Kenneth. Hindi nya kasi na-gets yung Untitled.]

I can still remember it as if it was just yesterday. It was raining hard that afternoon. I was a bit cranky as I was not allowed to play outside with the other kids. My dad just recently died a few days ago. As a result, we had quite a few visitors at the house.

Since I wasn’t allowed outside, I stayed at our mini library. I heard our doorbell ring. I didn’t mind it thinking it was just another visitor, maybe dad’s old friends just coming over to check on us.

Suddenly, my yaya went inside the room and told me to stay. She seemed so tense. She brought along our transistor radio and started to listen to those radio dramas that I really hated. Despite the noise of the rain on the roof and the crappy drama from the radio,  I swear I could hear shouting. It was then that I knew that yaya was just trying to distract me. No wonder she was so tense.

Soon, I heard our visitor leave. Sensing that the air seemed calmer, yaya turned off the radio and went back to her chores. As for me, I ran around the house. I looked everywhere for mama. I found her on her bedroom crying. I wanted to ask her back then on who the visitor was and why was she crying. But I kept my mouth shut. It seemed to be the right thing to do. I just sat beside her and hugged her. I kept the memory of that day in my mind.

10 years later, I am still troubled by that memory. I know that I should’ve just asked mom but part of me is just scared. And it was then that I stumbled upon mom’s old journal.

I found out that our visitor was dad’s mistress. She was trying to leave my stepbrother in our care as she can no longer support him. My mom, being full of pride, rejected the idea. She quarreled with the mistress and it nearly came to blows if it wasn’t for my uncle who mediated between them.

I didn’t bother asking mom about what I just read. Let the ghost of the past remain with the past. Still, it got me thinking. How was my stepbrother? Is he doing well? Did he enjoy life as I did? Or did he experience hardship? I know I’ll never be able to answer these questions. I heaved a deep sigh and stared at the windows as the heavy rain started to pour in again.

[Shemay. Di ko alam kung paano tatapusin yung story. Haha. Wala rin akong maisip na maayos na title. Bummer. ]

Leave a Reply

J'emmêlé

Making little noises since April 2016.

SubSelfie.com

Behind the Scenes. Beyond the Newsroom.

Punjetry

Puns, Poetry and Free Writing

Life Lessons

When life gives you lemons, oh wait, I love lemons.

bon voyage, doc!

it's about the journey

fernandezjrp

filio temporis

Pa-Chicks na Blog (Love, Life, Lesbianism and Everything in Between)

Doctor Eamer's Blog

PAG-IBIG ATBP.

The Spin Busters

Reading between the lines, reporting behind the scenes

Fate Cabag

an open field of rambling stories

Twenty Third Station

Culture. Music. Entertainment. Life beyond K-Drama...

Off the Wall

finding what my heart desires

Behind The Veil

It is both a blessing and a curse, to feel everything so deeply..

*Madaldal sa blog. Tahimik sa personal.*

M.I.C.H.A.E.L.A

Ready, set and get psyched!!

THE KREW | MNL

The official blog of the KCC Suporters

The Learned Ignoramus

Pretending to be profound

Night Sky in Focus

Astrophotography, visual observation, and equipment modification

